A Message from Amanda Greenwood

Hello, everyone! My name is Amanda Greenwood, the Chamber of Commerce’s newest Administrative Assistant. Last month, you met Chelsey Bark, the other new Administrative Assistant. Together, alongside Jennifer, we hope to make your Chamber the best Chamber imaginable.

Before I tell you how we plan to do that, let me tell you a little about myself. I was raised in West Branch, where I graduated high school and worked for the City Hall, as the webmaster, for three years. I attended college at Grand Valley State Universitywhere I started my Bachelor’s Degree in Advertising and Public Relations with a minor in French.

When I moved to Big Rapids, three months ago, I knew absolutely no one. I am very fortunate to have found a job, here at the Chamber. I have met countless, wonderful people who have pride in their community. I have learned so much about the businesses and history of this area (even though I still get lost driving around). When I see a business sign I can say, “Hey, I know that person”. Big Rapids feels like home already. Without the Chamber, I don’t think that would have been possible.

Now-a-days, it seems that most everything is done electronically. Keeping up with the times, the Chamber offers many electronic benefits. The first is your profile on our website. Every member has an online profile that is listed on our website and that is searchable by keywords. You can update this profile, at any time, by logging in to our website with the username and password that we gave to you upon joining. It is very important to keep this information updated because this is how we classify your business in our member directory and it is the contact information that we use when referring your business to someone. If at any time you have lost/forgotten your log-in information, please don’t hesitate to call the Chamber. We can get it to you within a matter of seconds.

One of my favorite things, that the Chamber offers, is this newsletter. It reaches over 5,000 people monthly! Utilize our community calendar and member bulletin board by sending us information about your events and announcements. We’re more than happy to feature them. We also have the Member of the Month article, which you can enter to win by going to the monthly Business After Hours and submitting your business card to our drawing!

The benefits of the Chamber don’t stop there. New things that we are undertaking include our Member of the Week drawing, interactive and group texting, blogging, geocaching and the series of educational seminars with amazing guest Speakers! Stay tuned to our newsletters to get all of the details, of each project, as they get finalized. Great things are happing, and I’m very excited to be involved in bringing them to you!

Leave a Reply

